Halloween Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always wanted to build my own animatronic prop, but I'm very new to how animatronics actually work.

How hard would it be to build something like a full-body zombie with some basic movements? Movements such as head turn left, head turn right, head tilt back, body lean back, and eye blink?

How would I go about building something like this? How-to's, pictures, and any info would be great. I'd like to build something awesome, but I'm very new to this.

·
Registered
916 Posts
Terror Syndicates sells a series of books that deal with prop building and simple motions. Motions more along the lines of what I would call "pop-ups". When you get into things like head turns and eye blinks you are talking servos with increaes the difficulty level a great deal.

·
Lord of the Cemetery
2,081 Posts
Head turns are fairly simple to achieve using an oscillating fan motor.
Also, there are plenty of good tutorials around that incorporate a simple wiper motor and linkage for some basic animation.
My advice would be to start with some basic animation using simple electric motors and lnkages until you build up confidence and experience in the basic principles before moving on to more complex multi-function set ups incorporating servos etc.

·
Registered
591 Posts