Halloween Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hubby is worried that as I add stuff to the yard, I'm going to overload the power. I know I can get an electrician out here to add additional power but in the mean time I'm exploring what I can do without going that far. Anyone using anything solar powered or battery operated etc? How do you find they work? So far all I've dabbled with is a solar spot light on my haunted realty sign which works well.

·
Reaper Guardian
2,041 Posts
I'm no expert, but you might want to look into portable power packs. I won't say that they're cheap, but they might be an alternative to a new circuit. The Duracell Powerpack 600 is an example of what I'm talking about - please note, I'm not recommending or endorsing this product, it's just an example to point you in the direction. There are plenty others on the market.

Again, I'm not an expert, but from what I've seen, solar would be best to recharge whatever batteries you use to power your props, rather than directly powering them.

·
Insert Witty Comment Here
4,484 Posts
Whether you upgrade the electrical to the house or convert to LEDs, it's going to cost you. I upgraded my service to the house a few years ago and added more exterior outlets. I now have flexibility out the wazoo. I have yet to see an LED fog machine, or a solar powered air compressor, so a push to use alternative energy isn't there. I'm not a fan of LED lighting either because they're so hard to repair and the cost savings just aren't there. I did the math a couple of years ago to convert my Christmas lights to LEDs and figured it would take about 6 years to break even....and that's if all the light strands kept working.

·
Registered
223 Posts