Halloween Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This has probably been brought up before, but I have a difficult decision this year. I am not able to get any time off work for the big day. I work in retail and have to open a new store on 11/1. Which means I will probably be stuck working on Halloween night and back in the morning about 4AM. I have plenty of people willing to help for the big show, but I am wondering if any of you have been in a similar situation.
I don't know if I should setup what I can knowing I may not be able to participate or if I take the year off and have a lot of disappointed people including myself or go give it hell and try to go all in.
I usually take a week or so off for setup and tear down, this year I will be lucky with one day off.
Anyone ever been here and what did you do?
Thanks

·
Registered
185 Posts
Take care of yourself and don't feel bad about doing so. There's always next year and remember that it's just as important that you enjoy your big show as other people enjoying it.

I've read so many haunters mention that at some point life gets in the way and putting on their event turns into a stressful production instead of something fun. It would be a shame if it all added to your work stress, right? Reasonable people will understand and they should be grateful you've put it on for how ever many years you already have.

There's always the option of scaling down and setting up a mini display. At least that will be something so you hopefully won't feel like you sat out completely. When people ask, you can tell them you hope to return to the whole show in 2018.

·
The Ghost Host
597 Posts
aMake a giant tombstone with your haunt's name on it, with dates and a sign next to it 'rising from the dead 2018'
OKAY that is such a cute idea :D