Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Our haunt grew this year and while finalizing the lighting, I ran out of spotlights. So, I thought I would take some pictures and put together a tutorial. I know that LED's are the way to go, but I've been making and using these light for several years with left over materials around the shop.

The lights are cheap and easy to make, I can make a dozen in less than 2 hours... quicker if I don't wait for the paint to dry.

They are versatile and easy to mount and adjustable from a tight spot to a flood pattern.

And did I mention they are cheap?

Enjoy-
OddTodd

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the video... Do have any pics of the c7's in action?
Here is a short video of the spotlights. The "hood" doesn't have to be cut at a 45, this gives more of an elongated light pattern... great for standing props.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Very simple, very cost effective, and the daisy-chaining allows for future expansion.

Dang right Ima make a batch of these!
You can make a dozen almost as fast as making one.

·
Registered
720 Posts
I like the idea of simply interrupting a basic extension cord, so you can daisy-chain these. Keep both the plug and outlet. And since those lamp cords have three-way heads, you can really put em anywhere.

So Ima go find those bulk boxes of LED crystal-dome lights (which I bought for a buck a box after last Christmas) and start this idea!

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I like the idea of simply interrupting a basic extension cord, so you can daisy-chain these. Keep both the plug and outlet. And since those lamp cords have three-way heads, you can really put em anywhere.

So Ima go find those bulk boxes of LED crystal-dome lights (which I bought for a buck a box after last Christmas) and start this idea!
I used conventional incandescent C7 bulbs... these run off of 110 volt AC.