Halloween Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
6,862 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pencil - a traditional 2D animation software

I am really wanting to do some singing pumpkins this year, and the only stuff I can find is either animations that no one wants to share, or I don't really like the quality of...

So I came across this program that is cross-platform and FREE. From the looks of the stuff that other animators have done, it most definitely can do the simple pumpkin singing animations. I work on a Mac platform, so I can actually use this and sync it up with sound using the lovely iMovie with any sound/songs I want. (I am a graphic designer working primarily with print media, so the arty stuff won't be a problem, but it won't be anything like Hallowindow's gorgeous stuff)

I want the typical 3 pumpkin set up, but use different faces for each one, having different expressions and the songs would be very different (I'll use "This is Halloween" most likely, but there is some rockabilly stuff, HorrorPops, Necromantix, Alice Cooper and AC/DC... and just using Vincent Price reading from some of the spooky stories... if it wasn't TOO hard I could spend the next several months and have a nice loop of an hour or so of songs and stories)

I wondered if anyone has used or even heard of this program? I used to do animations back in the 90s using Director and some other programs, but it's been a while since I've taught myself something completely new... not sure to be excited or scared.

Anyone tried this? Tips?

·
Registered
179 Posts
I'm not sure about the program you mentioned, but I am currently working on a singing pumpkin project myself. However it is not the animated kind. I am using the Vixen program (free), a kit74, and an old computer I salvaged.

I will gladly share my Vixen sequence with you when it is finished, if you decide to go this route.

·
Typical Ghoul Next Door
6,862 Posts
Discussion Starter #3