Books and Movies - Page 3
Hello there, is this your first visit?
Register
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    333

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mason o' Lantern View Post
    I have read the original Frankenstein and now I plan to read the original Dracula. Victor Frankenstein is a new blockbuster coming out in November, looks pretty good and Danielle Radcliffe is playing Igor!
    I 've re- read both. I have already read The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll, Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson, The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux, and I recently read The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo. I guess I'm associating reading these books with my childhood experiences with the Universal Classic Monsters/ Aurora Monster models.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    HalloweenForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Boaz, AL. Formly from Pensacola,FL.
    Posts
    178

    Default

    I just finish reading Craven Manor from Darcy Coates. She writes some good gothic horror novels. About every October I read The Amityville Horror from Jay Anson. I never get tired of it.

  4. #23

    Default

    At home I am reading Abarat by Clive Barker. I purchased it at a book sale not having any idea what it was but getting it based on the Barker name. Can't realy say it is horror, more weird fantasy, but it does have some creepy characters such as Mendelson Shape and Christopher Carrion. I am hoping to finish it by the end of September as between work, making and cleaning up from dinner as my wife works later then me and my youngests school activities it takes me awhile.

    After Abarat I will reread Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked This Way Comes. I read it years ago and really didn't care for it but decided to reread it last year and discovered, for whatever reason, that I like it. Probably will become an October tradition. How can you go wrong with a book that starts...'First of all, it was October...'.

    At work, where I read on my lunch break I am currently reading October Dreams: A Celebration of Halloween. I have read this several times and read it every year at this time. Usually I start it at the begining of October but then I would not finish it until well into November so last year I started it at the begining of September and that worked better. It is a collections of stories and essays, all with a Halloween theme, by numerous authors including Bradbury, Peter Straub and Dean Koontz. Its a large book but well worth the time.
    "There are three things I have learned never to discuss with people: religion, politics, and the Great Pumpkin."
    -- Linus van Pelt

  5. Remove Advertisements
    HalloweenForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kent , England.
    Posts
    1,711

    Default

    Hi all , i am not sure but i think that the greatest English Ghost story writer for me would be M. R. James so i would heartily recommend any of his stories , his stories were originally written for friends and students to be heard around a fireplace at Christmas time which has always been a great British tradition , but were so good they were published , i know hes not been heard about so much in the U.S. but he is well respected in the U.K. so much so the BBC have adapted many of his stories for T.V. over the years , he was a fan of Sheridan Le Fanu , and was a huge inspiration for E. F. Benson and he was also one of Bensons lecturers at Cambridge university as James was a professor of old antique religious texts , also Benson went on to become a great author as well and a great British ghost story writer as i am sure you all know , you can find all of M. R. James work in the public domain and on many horror story podcasts or very cheaply in book form , i highly recommend if you like old fashioned ghost stories in the vein of E.F. Benson or Dickens , and hopefully you will enjoy his stories as much as i do .

  7. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    333

    Default

    I didn't know that M.R. James lectured E.F. Benson. As you can see that my name on Avatar suggests, I'm an E.F. Benson fan.

  8. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Kent , England.
    Posts
    1,711

    Default

    Books and Movies
    Hi E.F. BENSON , yes and i believe his brother may have also , he was if my memory serves me correctly a member of the chitchat club and so was one of those lucky few who at Christmas were first read those classic M. R. James stories by James himself to a few invited guests in his rooms while he was lecturing at the time after he had written them for a select few friends and students little knowing they would one day be published and became classics in their own rights . Here is a link you may have visited before to RYE museum i only live about 45 minutes away and have meant to visit Bensons house in RYE for the last couple of years , hopefully this coming summer as RYE is beautiful in summer , you will also see that Henry James was a friend and had lived there previously as well , of course you will remember this James for his classic 1898 story THE TURN OF THE SCREW , again another classic horror story although not one of my favorites .

    https://www.ryemuseum.co.uk/e-f-bens...enson-and-rye/

    here also is another E. F. Benson link you may find interesting if you have not found it already , hope this will lead you to a few further lines or research -

    http://booksinwernicke.blogspot.com/...-f-benson.html

    as a footnote also another great author who lived very very nearby to these authors in the same era in an area known collectively as Romney marshes was Edith Nesbit , i went and found her grave in a tiny little village churchyard called Saint Mary In The marsh just a couple of years ago as she wrote one of my more favorite ghost stories MAN SIZE IN MARBLE , and of course she also wrote her most famous work THE RAILWAY CHILDREN .
    I love ghost stories and of course where i live we are surround by thousands and thousands of them so look forward to see what you find out in you resear ch , happy reading !! heres a good you-tube link for free audio-book links ......

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...CxmmrG1YNyzD6o

    one of my favorite stories !!!!! believe it or not , its thought possibly written for children by M.R. James lol

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDWB...yzD6o&index=26

  9. Remove Advertisements
    HalloweenForum.com
    Advertisements
     

 

 
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •