Reply To Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. Collapse Details
    Firefox and Chrome saying site is harmful to your computer? (resolved)
    #1
    billman's Avatar
    billman is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    965


    I just tried to login today and got the page saying this site is harmful to your computer. It contains elements of EDITED

    Any idea what's going on?


    ADMIN EDITED ERROR as it could cause an error for others
    Last edited by larry; 06-26-2010 at 07:40 PM.
    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    TK421's Avatar
    TK421 is offline Mill Creek Haunted Hollow
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mill Creek, Washington
    Posts
    5,587
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have no idea what that is!? It's not a website, and I can't find any warnings about it. I opened the site in IE and Firefox and had no problems this morning.

    The only reference I could find to veleku.in was in the string code of a JavaScript Unpacker, and I have no idea how that would be affecting your browser. You might try running your own diagnostic and search for elements of veleku.in and see if there's a bad cookie or trojan squatting on your hard drive.
    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    billman's Avatar
    billman is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    965
    Thanks!.....yeah strange. I did see java try to load up. I'll start running diagnostics etc...
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Gym Whourlfeld is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA. Mt. Carroll, Ill.
    Posts
    3,559
    Blog Entries
    10
    "squatting on something hard!?"(drive)
    Never! Good thing it was a Trojan!
    "My Insanity is well-respected, until they wiggle free and become a stringer for a tabloid"
    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Shellyfish is offline Vampire
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    39
    I just got the same message. It referred me to this page:
    http://google.com/safebrowsing/diagn...ku.in&hl=en-us

    When I tried to access halloweenforum.com again the message did not pop up. When this happens isn't it usually something to do with rotating banner ads?

    ADMIN EDITED LINK as this would cause an error
    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    billman's Avatar
    billman is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    965
    Well, I went to my other computer using firefox and got the same thing.

    It started out like this: (I have my pc's to ask everytime a cookie is placed whether to accept or block)

    -1st it prompted me for cookie Lecrosse.co.cc
    -then cookie Veleku.in
    -then java tried to kick in to run a script
    -then my Avast antivirus kicked in saying: Avast blocked an exploit
    http://veu.DONOTFOLLOW THIS LINKin/x/pdf.php [L] Js:Pdfka-gen [Expl] (0)

    Admin edited link
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    discobandit's Avatar
    discobandit is offline Vampire
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    42
    I opened up the index the other day and was prompted to update my java because something on the page needed it, but I ignored it and reloaded the page. It hasn't happened since, and I should have known better to check out what prompted it, sounds like a bad ad is in the rotation. I'm sorry

    I just did a scan with Avast! and my computer came up clean, however. I'll keep you updated.

    *edit!

    Here's information that might be relevant:

    -Firefox 3.6.3 on XP
    Adblock
    Noscript and Flashblock added, but not turned on
    -From Edmonton, Alberta
    -Encountered on first loading the main index in the evening.
    -Prompted Java to load and say it needed to update to display something (or something to that effect, I don't recall verbatim).
    -This is a relatively new computer and java updates automatically. Thought I'd throw that in there, since being prompted to download an update for a program that has been updating itself automatically for awhile is a little suspicious

    Good luck!
    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    billman's Avatar
    billman is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    965
    I scanned both my pc's with avast and it came up with nothing. Also, I ran Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and that came up with nothing. I checked Hijackthis log and everything seems fine.

    Also, I forgot to add that Adobe tried to kick in as well. I guess that's where the pdf.php was blocked by avast.
    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Scruffywolf's Avatar
    Scruffywolf is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    652
    Blog Entries
    7
    Try using ComboFix from bleepingcomputer.com or do a Google on it. Sounds to me like you are already infected with Mal-Ware or something of the like. If you try to run ComboFix and it gives you problems during execution then yepper! you're infected. Any probs, gimme a buzz. I use Firefox almost exclusively and have never gotten a warning from my browser. I use AVG Pro and it's web advisor gives our forum a BIG thumbs up as far as sites go!
    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    billman's Avatar
    billman is offline The Great Pumpkin
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    965
    Well, not sure what is up cause I have run all sorts of scans and have found nothing.

    I have several antivirus programs that run on my pc's all the time, I know all the processes that run at any given time, I watch all my ports and traffic. So, the odds of me even getting a trojan are very low.

    The strange thing is that this has happened on 2 pc's. One I only use for forum stuff, youtube, and facebook. I'm at a loss...
    Reply With Quote
     

Reply To Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts