Halloween Forum

Halloween Chat

hauntedpropsupply.com - scam site?
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:57 PM
Eltis Eltis is offline
Vampire
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 41
Question hauntedpropsupply.com - scam site?

Hello,

I've been desperately seeking an affordable FCG rig. I searched and searched and found this site selling one for just $96. Pretty reasonable!

Haunted Prop Supply Home Page

But looking through their site, some things started to look rather odd. There is no direct way of contacting anyone. Some of the links on the site go nowhere. And since they don't take payment from credit cards, I don't feel comfortable taking any chances.

It's possible that it's a new, small time site run by honest folks that just don't know what they are doing.

Does anybody have any experience with this place? If not, I think I will just steer clear and end up spending more someplace else.

~Mark
Reply With Quote

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2009, 08:17 PM
Finn's Avatar
Finn Finn is offline
The Great Pumpkin
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sellersville, Pa.
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eltis View Post
Hello,

I've been desperately seeking an affordable FCG rig. I searched and searched and found this site selling one for just $96. Pretty reasonable!

Haunted Prop Supply Home Page

But looking through their site, some things started to look rather odd. There is no direct way of contacting anyone. Some of the links on the site go nowhere. And since they don't take payment from credit cards, I don't feel comfortable taking any chances.

It's possible that it's a new, small time site run by honest folks that just don't know what they are doing.

Does anybody have any experience with this place? If not, I think I will just steer clear and end up spending more someplace else.

~Mark
Never heard of them, but Ebay has some good deals on FCG's.
__________________
"I Love The Dead" - Alice Cooper
Reply With Quote

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-03-2009, 09:36 PM
Otaku's Avatar
Otaku Otaku is offline
The Great Pumpkin
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 1,811
Default

I don't know anything about this place, either, but their price on the 12VDC gearmotor is through the roof at $24.97. Sciplus sells the same item for $7.95. And a Whois lookup comes up "unknown" in every category. Hmmmm...
__________________
I...have many names...

Dark Alessa
Reply With Quote

  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 12:15 PM
MrOCT31's Avatar
MrOCT31 MrOCT31 is offline
Werewolf
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 77
Default

Surplus Center sells them for $2.99!

Burden Sales Surplus Center Item Detail
Reply With Quote

  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 01:44 PM
meltdown211's Avatar
meltdown211 meltdown211 is offline
The Great Pumpkin
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Outside of Detroit MI
Posts: 263
Send a message via MSN to meltdown211
Default

I would stay as FAR away from that site as possible...look at the home page! Words mis-spelled, no capital letters, picture turned sideways, it must have been designed by a 5 year old! The tombstone pic at the top is a pic they got from google, and yes, no phone numbers, and whois tells nothing. Now why would you want to send money to them anyway?

They dont even look reputable, looks like a kid tried to cash in on the halloween season and probably wont ship your product anyway. Did you realllly need to ask about this company?
Reply With Quote

  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:53 PM
Dark lord's Avatar
Dark lord Dark lord is offline
Cheese Wheel Ubber Lord
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hell's pit in South San Francisco,CA
Posts: 839
Default

Hell even spookyplanet (or maybe this is his sister site) did a better job than this. If ya gonna scam us, at least make pretty pictures that are orginal & Use big impressive lettering..........
But then there are a lot of people out there that don't look at the signs of a scam site as we do.....
__________________
When you look in the mirror at midnight,what looks back at you.........
Reply With Quote

  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2009, 08:44 AM
Eltis Eltis is offline
Vampire
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meltdown211 View Post
They dont even look reputable, looks like a kid tried to cash in on the halloween season and probably wont ship your product anyway. Did you realllly need to ask about this company?
Well, I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask. And at the very least, getting this out there as a scam site might help others.

I have since purchased an FCG motor and will be building one myself this year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On







All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:13 AM.



HalloweenForum.com